Select Page

Meet Our Board

Board of Directors

Segundo Fernandez, Vice President

Martha Billings, HERC Secretary

David Kirk, HERC Treasurer

Barbara Goldstein

Barbara Goldstein, HERC Executive Director

I was born in New York City and moved to Florida in 1986. I have lived in Tallahassee since 1989 with my husband, Ron, and two children, Michael and Stephanie. The State of Florida requires that the Holocaust be taught in schools in all grade levels, and in 2006 I was one of the founders and co-chair of the Tallahassee Holocaust Education program sponsored by National Council of Jewish Women, Tallahassee Section to assist with this unfunded mandate. I developed meaningful programs and forged partnerships with the Florida Commission on Human Relations and the Leon County School District to bring Holocaust education to our teachers and students district-wide.

The great success of the Holocaust Education Program lead to establishing The Holocaust Education Resource Council, a Non-Profit Organization whose mission is to provide guidance and support for students, teachers, and the community about Holocaust education and teaching tolerance. In April 2008, I received the Woman of Achievement award from Congregation Shomrei Torah Sisterhood. It is appropriate because my voice is the one heard by Leon County educators from the classroom to the board room when I began questioning how or even if local kids were being taught about the Holocaust.

Thanks to my voice, there is now a group of dedicated volunteers who promote and organize an essay and art contest designed to teach school children about the Holocaust and the dangers of intolerance; and also a treasure trove of books and tapes worth thousands of dollars that is available to every Leon County teacher to use in teaching about the Holocaust. I have a very personal interest in this mission as my parents are Holocaust Survivors and an inspiration to never forget their remarkable story.

E-mail Barbara or call her at 850-443-9649

At-Large Directors:

Brett Cyphers

Linda Davey

Laura Jernigan

Taylor Joyner

Davia Kramer

Dan Leshem

Preston McLane

Elizabeth Ricci

Tricia Rizza

Audrey Romberg

Avi Wygodski

Gary Zirin